contemporary haitian art

1/1

Visual Artist

Painter and muralist, MALICIOUZ is a Montrealer of Haitian descent known for her numerous pieces presenting women as entities of monumental scale. From the streets to the canvas, her style stands out thanks to the strong spirit emanating from her characters. 

 

In 2018, MALICIOUZ presented her most recent solo exhibition titled Matriarch. She organized a conference as part of this exhibition. She has also been invited as a panelist for conferences at Sherbrooke, McGill and Concordia Universities, as well as at the Federal Training Center Prison and other art centers and galleries to express her vision of Afro-Futurism, the graffiti culture, the place of women and black people in Quebec society and then in the arts.


In recent years, she has exhibited collectively at the Fresh Paint Gallery, OCAD University, L'Espace Mushagalusa, and others. She did many live painting performances such as at the Art Battle competitions, which she won several times. Her works are now part of the public collections of Canadian Heritage, the Michaëlle Jean Foundation and the city of Sorel-Tracy.

 

Passionate and determined to share her art with the rest of the world, MALICIOUZ continues her journey through the creation of mural art such as the Under Pressure graffiti festival, in the streets of Montreal, Brooklyn and  in Port-au-Prince , Jacmel and Pegguy Ville where she realized 6 collaborative murals as part of the project the art of uniting in Haiti.

 

***

More recently, she made murals in Abidjan and took part in a collective exhibition in the same city and at the Afropolitain Nomade Festival. Thus quickly, MALICIOUZ sees her art published and covered by several local and international media. In 2019, she is awarded the price of the visual artist of the year from the Gala Dynastie.

 

artiste peintre

M A L I C I O U Z

 

PRESS

En voir plus

contemporary haitian art

1/1

Artiste en Arts Visuels 

Peintre et muraliste, MALICIOUZ est une artiste en arts visuels montréalaise d’origine haïtienne reconnue pour son art afro, urbain, contemporain. Sa démarche artistique se caractérise par la force d'esprit qui se dégage de ses personnages, majoritairement des femmes noires quelle présente dans ses œuvres comme étant des entités monumentales.

 

En 2018, MALICIOUZ présentait sa plus récente exposition solo intitulée Matriarche. Elle organisa une conférence dans le cadre de cette exposition. Elle fut également invitée à plusieurs reprises en tant que panéliste à des conférences aux universités de Sherbrooke, McGill et Concordia, ainsi que dans la Prison Centre Fédéral de Formation et autres centre d’arts et galerie pour exprimer sa vision de l’afro-futurisme, la culture du graffiti, de la place des femmes et des personnes noires dans la société Québécoise puis dans le milieu des arts.

 

Au cours des dernières années, elle expose plusieurs fois de manière collective à la Fresh Paint Gallery, à L’OCAD University, à L’Espace Mushagalusa, et autres. Elle fit de nombreuses prestations de peintures en direct tel qu’aux compétitions Art Battle dont elle fut la gagnante à plusieurs reprises. Ses œuvres font désormais parties des collections publiques de Patrimoine Canadien, de la Fondation Michaëlle Jean ainsi que de la ville de Sorel-Tracy. 

 

Passionnée et déterminée à partager son art au reste du monde, MALICIOUZ poursuit son parcours à travers la création d’art mural notamment au Festival de graffiti Under Pressure, dans les rues de Montréal, Brooklyn ainsi qu’en Haïti dans les villes de Port-au-Prince, Jacmel et Pegguy Ville où elle réalisa 6 murales collaboratives dans le cadre du projet l’art de s’unir en Haïti.

Plus récemment, elle a réalisé des murales à Abidjan et a participé à une exposition collective dans la même ville dans le cadre du festival Afropolitain Nomade. Ainsi rapidement, MALICIOUZ voit son art publié et couvert par plusieurs médias locaux et internationaux. En 2019, elle reçoit le prix de l'artiste visuel de l'année du Gala Dynastie.

 

artiste peintre

M A L I C I O U Z

 

PRESSE

En voir plus